School Council

Home / School Council


School Governance

The School Council plays an important and valued role in the development of Jacana School for Autism. It has elected representation from both the staff and from the parent community and is responsible for the financial, policy and strategic direction of the school. The School Council works in partnership with the school to deliver improved learning outcomes for our students and to support the staff to achieve this. It meets eight times a year to specifically address the following:

  • establishing the broad direction and vision of the school within the school’s community
  • participating in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan
  • approving the annual budget and monitoring expenditure
  • developing, reviewing and updating school policies
  • raising funds for school-related purposes
  • maintaining the school’s grounds and facilities
  • entering into contracts (such as for cleaning or construction work)
  • reporting annually to the school community and to the DET via the Annual Report to the School Community. This report is distributed in the school newsletter following the Annual General Meeting.
  • creating interest in the school in the wider community
  • listening to the views of the community

School Council Sub Committees
Jacana School for Autism has a Finance Sub-Committee, Building and Grounds Sub-Committee and Fundraising Sub Committee that meet on various suitable dates. If you would like any further information regarding these committees, please contact our Finance Manager.

2019 School Council Meeting Dates

  • Thursday 21st February
  • Thursday 21st March (Including the AGM)
  • Thursday 23rd May
  • Thursday 20th June
  • Thursday 8th August
  • Thursday 12th September
  • Thursday 31st October
  • Thursday 5th December

2019  Sub Committee Dates 

Finance Sub Committee

  • Tuesday 5th February – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 5th March – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 30th April – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 11th June – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 23rd July – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 20th August – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 15th October – 9.3am
  • Tuesday 12th November – 9.30am

Building and Grounds Sub Committee

  • Wednesday 6th February – 9.30am
  • Wednesday 27th February – 9.30am
  • Thursday 2nd May – 9.30am
  • Wednesday 5th May – 9.30am
  • Wednesday 24th July – 9.30am
  • Wednesday 28th August – 9.30am
  • Wednesday 16th October – 9.30am
  • Monday 20th November – 9.30am

Fundraising Sub Committee 

  • Thursday 7th February – 1.30pm
  • Thursday 15th March – 1.30pm
  • Thursday 9th May – 1.30pm
  • Thursday 13th June – 1.30pm
  • Thursday 1st August – 1.30pm
  • Thursday 5th September – 1.30pm
  • Thursday 24th October – 1.30pm
  • Thursday 21st November – 1.3pam

Minutes

JSA December 2018 School Council Meeting

JSA AUGUST School Council Minutes 09.09.18

JSA JUNE School Council Minutes 14.06.18.docx

JSA MAY School Council Minutes 14.05.18

JSA MARCH School Council AGM minutes 23.03.18

JSA MARCH School Council Minutes 22.03.18

JSA FEB School Council Minutes 22.02.18

JSA DEC School Council Minutes 14.12.17

AR_20175555 (Final 07 03 18) Endorsed

Jacana School for Autism (5555) – 2018-2021 – School Strategic Plan (Endorsed)

Jacana School for Autism (5555) – 2019 – AIP – Overall