School Council

Home / School Council


School Council

School Council Fundraising Sub-committee

The School Council plays an important and valued role in the development of Jacana School for Autism. It has elected representation from both the staff and from the parent community and is responsible for the financial, policy and strategic direction of the school. The School Council works in partnership with the school to deliver improved learning outcomes for our students and to support the staff to achieve this. It meets eight times a year to specifically address the following:

  • establishing the broad direction and vision of the school within the school’s community
  • participating in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan
  • approving the annual budget and monitoring expenditure
  • developing, reviewing and updating school policies
  • raising funds for school-related purposes
  • maintaining the school’s grounds and facilities
  • entering into contracts (such as for cleaning or construction work)
  • reporting annually to the school community and to the DET
  • creating interest in the school in the wider community
  • listening to the views of the community

School Council Sub Committees
Jacana School for Autism has a Finance Sub-Committee and Building and Grounds Sub-Committee that meet on various suitable dates. If you would like any further information regarding these committees, please contact our Finance Manager.

2017 School Council Meeting Dates

  • Thursday 23rd February
  • Thursday 23th March
  • Thursday 11th May
  • Thursday 15th June Rescheduled Thursday 22nd June
  • Thursday 10th August
  • Thursday 14th September Rescheduled 21st September
  • Thursday 9th November
  • Thursday 14th December

2017  Sub Committee Dates 

Finance Sub Committee

  • Tuesday 7th February – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 7th March – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 2nd May – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 30th May – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 25th July – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 29th August – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 17th October – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 21st November – 9.30am

Building and Grounds Sub Committee Dates 

  • Monday 13th February – 10.30am
  • Monday 27th February -10.30am
  • Monday 1st May – 10.30am
  • Monday 5th June -10.30am
  • Monday 31st July – 10.30am
  • Monday 28th August – 10.30am
  • Monday 23rd October – 10.30am
  • Monday 27th November – 10.30am

Fundraising Sub Committee Dates

  • Thursday 9th February – 10.30am
  • Thursday 16th March – 10.30am
  • Thursday 4th May – 10.30am
  • Thursday 8th June – 10.30am
  • Thursday 3rd August – 10.30am
  • Thursday 31st August – 10.30am
  • Thursday 26th October – 10.30am
  • Thursday 23rd November – 10.30am

Minutes
2014 -18 JSA Strategic Plan
2017 JSA School Annual Implementation Plan Approved by SC 24 03 17
AR_20165555 23 03 17
JSA Feb School Council Minutes 23.02.17
JSA March School Council Minutes 23.03.17
JSA AGM March School Council Minutes 23.03.17
JSA May School Council Minutes 11.05.2017
JSA June School Council Minutes 22.06.17
JSA August School Council Minutes 10.08.17