School Council

Home / School Council


School Governance

The School Council plays an important and valued role in the development of Jacana School for Autism. It has elected representation from both the staff and from the parent community and is responsible for the financial, policy and strategic direction of the school. The School Council works in partnership with the school to deliver improved learning outcomes for our students and to support the staff to achieve this. It meets eight times a year to specifically address the following:

  • establishing the broad direction and vision of the school within the school’s community
  • participating in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan
  • approving the annual budget and monitoring expenditure
  • developing, reviewing and updating school policies
  • raising funds for school-related purposes
  • maintaining the school’s grounds and facilities
  • entering into contracts (such as for cleaning or construction work)
  • reporting annually to the school community and to the DET via the Annual Report to the School Community. This report is distributed in the school newsletter following the Annual General Meeting.
  • creating interest in the school in the wider community
  • listening to the views of the community

School Council Sub Committees
Jacana School for Autism has a Finance Sub-Committee, Building and Grounds Sub-Committee and Fundraising Sub Committee that meet on various suitable dates. If you would like any further information regarding these committees, please contact our Finance Manager.

2018 School Council Meeting Dates

  • Thursday 22nd February
  • Thursday 22nd March (Including the AGM)
  • Thursday 10th May
  • Thursday 14th June
  • Thursday 9th August
  • Thursday 13th September
  • Thursday 1st October
  • Thursday 6th December

2018  Sub Committee Dates 

Finance Sub Committee

  • Tuesday 6th February – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 6th March – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 24th April – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 5th June – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 24th July – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 21st August – 9.30am
  • Tuesday 16th October – 9.3am
  • Tuesday 13th November – 9.30am

Building and Grounds Sub Committee

  • Wednesday 7th February – 9.30am
  • Wednesday 28th February – 9.30am
  • Thursday 26th April – 9.30am
  • Wednesday 30th May – 9.30am
  • Wednesday 25th July – 9.30am
  • Wednesday 29th August – 9.30am
  • Wednesday 17th October – 9.30am
  • Monday 21st November – 9.30am

Fundraising Sub Committee 

  • Thursday 8th February – 10.30am
  • Thursday 15th March – 10.30am
  • Thursday 3rd May – 10.30am
  • Thursday 7th June – 10.30am
  • Thursday 2nd August – 10.30am
  • Thursday 30th August – 10.30am
  • Thursday 25th October – 10.30am
  • Thursday 22nd November – 10.30am

Minutes

JSA MAY School Council Minutes 14.05.18

JSA MARCH School Council AGM minutes 23.03.18

JSA MARCH School Council Minutes 22.03.18

JSA FEB School Council Minutes 22.02.18

JSA DEC School Council Minutes 14.12.17
2014 -18 JSA Strategic Plan
AR_20165555 23 03 17